header                Issue #2              23 August 2014

These pages are an attempt to inform bridge players of  the laws governing our game.  In particular, we will be looking at everyday situations where the TD is called.  These pages will be updated each month, so please come again!  

Always call the TD- do not take the law into your own hands.    A typical situation: Your partner opens 1Hand you respond 1S.  Then you are informed that your bid is insufficient since your RHO has overcalled 2C, which you didn't see.  Do you automatically correct to 2S?  The correct procedure is to call the TD instantly.  He will give you various options and may even give you a chance to make a negative double!  Yes, this is allowed now - the Laws have changed somewhat in the last update.


The Revoke


The hand What happened



Along the way to bidding 6 East had doubled a
5 response to RKCB. West dutifully led the 3.

East won the two top spades then switched to a trump with West showing out, declarer winning the ace. "No trumps, partner?" East asks and West confirms "None." So declarer plays the trump king with both opponents discarding diamonds. "DIRECTOR" declarer calls.

By the time declarer gets to the table West had found the 2 amongst his spades. "Director," South starts, "firstly during the play East had spoken to his partner while defending, and we have an established revoke now since West failed to follow suit to a club at trick 3, having found it at the completion of trick 4. By my reckoning, that equates to 1 trick, thus I made my slam. Please concur."

The TD goes through the play sequence then comments: "I understand what has happened here. Firstly, your complaint about East asking his partner as to "no trumps?" is allowed in South Africa. There are many countries that do not allow it, primarily in Europe, but here defenders may ask."

"As to the revoke - yes a revoke has been established. However, you are entitled to one trick only if the defenders had won a trick at or after trick 3, the revoke trick. But you cannot take tricks away from them that they had already won before the revoke happened."

"Please score it as 6-1."




Lesson:   A revoke is not an automatic 1 or 2 trick transfer.   Ask the Director to assess.


 


Please feel free to write in regarding the bridge laws, to   webmaster [at] gbu.co.za

Ciao,

Sid Ismail
National Director

23-August-2014


All the Laws of Bridge Previous law articles Back to GBU HomePage


Home